About us

The museum was founded in the form of a collaborative venture in 1986, involving seven local authorities and two county museums.


In 1990, we created an institution with ten founder members: the seven local authorities (Ludvika and Smedjebacken in Dalarna, and Norberg, Fagersta, Skinnskatteberg, Surahammar and Hallstahammar in Västmanland); two county museums (Dalarna and Västmanland); and a tourist organization, Westmannaturism. It brought together some 50 (today over 60) heritage sites, which are run by volunteers belonging to various local-heritage associations.


The Chairman of the Board since 2005 is Ingvar Henriksson.
E-mail: ingvar.henriksson@ludvika.se.