Mentioned as ”Steel mountain” already in 1303.
Self-guided tour. Well signposted.
For information please contact
the tourist office +46 (0)223 291 30.
Info: Norberg tourism
Walking-path, Nature, the “Blue Cave”, Slagstone towers
The Klackberg mine area has a long and fascinating history. As far back as the early 14th century, the place was mentioned as Mons Ferri, the ”Iron Hill”. There are deposits of easily accessible, maniferous iron ore and dolomite. The dolomite (limestone) was used to trim the composition of the slag in the smelting process in the blast furnaces.
Remains of the oldest parts of the mine area are to be found at the Springegruva and the Solskensbergsgruva. At the entrance to Blå Grottan (the Blue Cave) the visitor can see how the fire-setting method was used to open the galleries or tunnels through the rock-face.
In old days the ore was hoisted to the surface by a horse winch and a double rope. Once at the surface, the ore was screened, at first in the open air and later in special buildings. Here the ore was tipped onto a moving sorting belt and was graded for quality. This work was carried out mainly by women and children.
A big change happened in Norberg in the mid 19th century, when steam power and, 40 years later, electricity made machine drilling and large scale mining underground possible. The advent of the railway improved transportation. The remains of industrial works to be found here in the area are from the period 1880 to 1920. Mining underground continued at Klackberg until 1967.
Quite unique are the two round head frame buildings built of slag bricks with their ornamentation and arched windows. Both shaft towers are placed above hauling shafts several hundred metres deep. Some lifts, hoists and machine equipment are also preserved in the buildings.
In the south-west part of the area one finds old lime quarries. Nearby one of the many lime-kilns has been preserved.
Some of the dwellings that were built towards the end of the 19th century have been retained, among which is the area known as ”Uddevalla”, consisting of blocks of four to five family houses built of brick and for those days very solid and modern. The many barrack-like wooden buildings of much more simple standard construction have however all been pulled down.